Meet the People

Below are the current and past members of the Electroweak Interactions Group at CSM.

Faculty






Professor Kyle Leach
Head, Electroweak Interactions Group
Head of Graduate Admissions, Department of Physics
Chair, TRIUMF Users' Group Executive Committee

Ph.D. - University of Guelph, Canada              Email: kleach@mines.edu
                       Phone: (303) 273-3044
                       Fax: (303) 273-3919
                       Office: Room 01, Timberline 1
Research interests:
-Nuclear structure studies relevant to tests of the Standard Model
-Radioactive decay of highly charged exotic ions
-Technical development of radiation detection techniques in nuclear physics

Graduate Students




Hannah Grover
M.S. Student

B.Sc. (2017), Colorado School of Mines      Email: hgrover@mines.edu

Research interests:
-Technical developments for the FRIB Decay Station




Matt Jones
M.S. Student

B.Sc. (2015), Colorado School of Mines      Email: matjones@mines.edu

Research interests:
-Machine learning algorithms towards ISB corrections in superallowed beta decay




Connor Natzke
Ph.D. Student

B.Sc. (2017), Colorado School of Mines      Email: cnatzke@mines.edu

Research interests:
-Detailed characterization of the GRIFFIN Spectrometer at TRIUMF
-Two-photon decay of 90Zr




Jon Ringuette
Ph.D. Student

B.Sc. (2015), University of Washington      Email: jringuette@mines.edu

Research interests:
-Searches for light dark matter in weak nuclear decays
-Technical development of cold ion trapping techniques for electron-capture momentum reconstruction

Undergraduate Students

Jessica Berry

-Technical development of a python-based nuclear database extraction tool

jberry@mines.edu

Hayden Blair

-Investigation of screening effects in ultra-low energy beta decay

hblair@mines.edu

Connor Bray

-Design study of a next generation gamma-ray spectrometer for the FRIB decay station

cbray@mines.edu

Spencer Fretwell

-Case selection for electroweak studies on highly charged radioactive ions

sfretwel@mines.edu

Yanina Liktenshteyn

-Upgraded user interface for nuclear database extraction tol

ylikhten@mines.edu

Matthew Martin

-Effects of extreme environments on radioactive decay modes

matmarti@mines.edu

William McDonald

-Technical development of a python-based nuclear database extraction tool

wmcdonal@mines.edu

Alumni

2017


Peter Consalvi (2016-2017)
Alex Harget (2016-2017) - M.S. Degree July 2017
Brian Steward (2015-2017) - M.S. Degree January 2017

2016


Patrick Hunt (2016)
William Counley (2015-2016)
Markus Garbiso (2015-2016)
Monika Osborn (2015-2016)